ASPN Home  |  2021 Virtual Portal  |  Past and Future Meetings
American Society for Peripheral Nerve
Preliminary Program

Program and Abstracts | ePosters

Friday January 14, 2022
6:30 am - 8:00 am
Continental Breakfast
6:45 am - 7:45 am
AAHS/ASPN Instructional Courses
Nerve Transfers vs Tendon Transfers
Chair: Steven L. Moran, MD
Instructors: Jonathan Isaacs, MD, Amy M. Moore, MD, Tarek El Gammal, MD; Amr El Sayed, MD; Mary Drake, OTR/L, CHT
Business and Building a Nerve Practice
Chair: Desirae McKee, MD
Instructors: Brendan J. MacKay, MD; Harvey Chim, MD; Peter J. Evans, MD
Neuroma and Pain Management
Chair: Alexander Spiess, MD
Instructors: Wyndell H. Merritt, MD; Patrick Stewart, MD; Catherine Curtain, MD; Trisha Ostrander, OTR/L, OTD, CHT
Compressive Neropathy (Decompressed Nerve) I Released The Nerve the Patient is Still in Pain
Chair: William W. Dzwierzynski, MD
Instructors: Brandon Smetana, MD; Meredith N. Osterman, MD; Frank A. Scott, MD; Lisa S. Michael, OTD, OTR/L
Stroke Injury/ Spinal Cord injury
Chair: Ida K. Fox, MD
Instructors: Justin M. Brown, MD; Peter C. Rehee, MD, Joshua MacDonald, OT, CHT
Nerve Tumors
Chair: Robert Spinner, MD
Instructors: Rajiv Midha, MD; Jonathan M. Winograd, MD; J. Henk Coert, MD
The Latest and Greatest in Nerve Imaging
Chair: Gedge Rosson, MD
Instructors: Mark A. Mahan, MD; Line G. Jacques, MD
Alternative Nerve Coaptations: End-to-Side and Side-to-Side Techniques
Chair: Michael J. Hendry, MD
Instructors: Kirsty Boyd, MD; Sami Tuffaha, MD; Theodore Kung, MD
8:15 am - 8:20 am
ASPN President and Program Chair Welcome (Not for Credit)
Gregory H. Borschel, MD; ASPN President
Kristen M. Davidge, MD, MSc; ASPN Program Chair
8:20am - 8:30am
2020 ASPN/PSF Award Grant Recipients
Introduction: Gregory H. Borschel, MD
Fat Grafting to Enhance Nerve Regeneration After Delayed Nerve Repair
Stephen Kemp, MD
8:30am - 8:35am
ASPN Travelling Fellowship Update
Chair: Shai Rozen, MD
2020 Kyle Eberlin, MD; & 2022 Andres Maldonado, MD
8:35 am - 9:35 am
ASPN Scientific Paper Session I
Moderators: Robert Spinner, MD; Rajiv Midha, MD
9:35am - 10:00 am
ASPN Invited Speaker
New Contributions on Facial Palsy Surgery

Fausto Viterbo, MD
10:00 am - 10:30 am
Coffee Break with Exhibitors
10:30 am - 11:30 am
AAHS/ASPN Joint Panel: TMR or RPNI
Chair: R. Glenn Gaston, MD
Instructors: Paul S. Cederna, MD, Gregory A. Dumanian, MD, Jason H. Ko, MD, Kyle R. Eberlin, MD
11:30 am - 12:30 pm
Concurrent AAHS/ASPN Scientific Abstract Session
Moderators: Catherine Curtin MD; Amy M. Moore, MD
11:30 am - 5:00 pm
ASPN Sewing with the Nerve Masters (Not for Credit)
Co-Chairs: Jaret Olson, MD; Kristy Boyd, MD
12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Lunch with Exhibitors
1:30 pm - 2:30 pm
ASPN Panel II: Enhancing Nerve Regeneration: Innovations in Science & Clinical Practice
Moderator: Amy M. Moore MD
Panelists: Ming Chan, MD; Christine A. Webber, PhD; Paul S. Cederna, MD
2:30 pm - 4:00 pm
ASPN Poster Session
Moderators: Allan J. Belzberg, MD; Alison Snyder-Warwick, MD
4:00 pm - 4:15 pm
ASPN Distinguished Service Award (Not for Credit)
5:30 pm - 7:00pm
ASPN Presidential Reception (Invitation Only)

Saturday January 15, 2022
6:30 am - 8:00 am
Continental Breakfast
7:00 am - 8:00 am
AAHS/ASPN/ASRM Joint Outstanding Paper Session
Moderators: Mark Rekant, MD; Julie E. Adams, MD; Sami Tuffaha, MD; Bauback Safa, MD; Aldona Spiegel, MD
8:00 am - 8:15 am
AAHS/ASPN/ASRM President's Welcome (Not for Credit)
Nash H. Naam, MD; AAHS President
Gregory H. Borschel, MD; ASPN President
Gunter Germann, MD; ASRM President
8:15 am - 9:15 am
AAHS/ASPN/ASRM Combined Panel: Latest and Greatest of Opioids and the Management of Pain
Moderator: David C. Ring, MD
Panelists: David L. Brown, MD, FACS; Catherine Curtin, MD; Francisco del Pinal, MD
9:15 am - 9:45 am
Coffee Break with Exhibitors
9:45 am - 10:45 am
Joint Presidential Keynote Lecture
The Opportunity and the Obligation to Innovate
Scott Parazynski, MD
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
AAHS/ASPN/ASRM Instructional Courses
Nerve Reconstruction In The Head & Neck
Chair: Alison Snyder-Warwick, MD
Instructors: Michael Klebuc, MD; Shai Rozen, MD
Bone Flaps in Extremity Reconstruction
Chair: Pedro Cavadas, MD; Kyle R. Eberlin, MD
Instructors: Francisco del Pinal, MD; Marc J. Richard, MD; Marco Innocenti, MD; Heinz Buerger, MD; Allen T. Bishop, MD
Uncommon Nerve Compression Syndromes
Chair: William B. Ericson, MD
Instructors: Loree K. Kalliainen, MD; Eric P. Hofmeister, MD; John D. Lubahn, MD
Current Advances In Restoring Intrinsic Function Of The Hand
Chair: Christopher Dy, MD
Instructors: Heather L. Baltzer, MD; Christopher Doherty, MD; Thomas HH Tung, MD
Global Outreach, What's New and How to Get Involved (lessons learned)
Chair: Donald Lalonde, MD
Instructors: Paige Fox, MD, Fraser J. Leversedge, MD; Rebecca Neiduski, CHT
Management of the Mutilating Hand Injury
Chair: Nick Pulos, MD
Instructors: Constantinos Ketonis, MD; Rudolf F. Buntic, MD; Jacqueline Geissler, MD; Nora Barrett, OTR/L, CHT
Management of Hand Ischemia
Chair: James P. Higgins, MD; Jaimie T. Shores, MD
Panelists: James Chang, MD; Warren C. Hammert, MD; Micheal W. Neumeister, MD; William C. Pederson, MD
When A Little Bit is a Lot: The Paralyzed Hand and the Amputee
Chair: Vincent R. Hentz, MD; Jonathan Isaacs, MD
Panelists: Andreas Gohritz, MD; Gregory Dumanian, MD; R. Glenn Gaston, MD; Paul S. Cederna, MD
12:15 pm - 1:15 pm
Industry Sponsored Lunch Symposia (Not for Credit)
Nerve Transfers & Selective Neurectomy in Spinal Cord Injury
Supported by Checkpoint Surgical
1:15 pm - 2:00 pm
Scientific Paper Session II
Moderator: Raymond Tse, MD; A. Lee Dellon, MD
2:00 pm - 2:45 pm
ASPN Invited Speaker
Advancing Peripheral Nerve Surgery by Collaboration, Research and Challenging Dogma

Alexander Shin, MD
2:45 pm - 4:00 pm
Scientific Paper Session III
Moderators: Gedge D. Rosson, MD; Ziv M. Peled, MD
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
ASPN Mentorship Reception (Not for Credit) (Invitation Only)
6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
ASPN/ASRM Welcome Reception (Not for Credit)
Sponsored by ASSI - Accurate Surgical

Sunday January 16, 2022
6:30 am - 8:00 am
Continental Breakfast
6:45 am - 7:45 am
ASPN Instructional Courses
Nerve Reconstruction In The Lower Limb: What Works And What Doesn't?
Chair: Grant M. Kleiber, MD
Instructors: Amy M. Moore, MD; Kyle R. Eberlin MD; Douglas Ross, MD
Current Concepts in Rehabilitation after Nerve Transfers
Chairs: Thomas HH Tung, MD
Instructors: Amy Young, MD; Alexandrea Mackenzie, CHT
Updates in Migraine Surgery
Chair: Ziv M. Peled, MD
Instructors: Ivica Ducic, MD; Robert R. Hagan, MD; Giorgio Pietramaggiori, MD; Saja Scherer, MD
Basic Science Every Nerve Surgeon Should Know
Chair: Stephen W. P Kemp, MD
Instructors: Matthew D. Wood, PhD; Mike Willand, MD
What's New in Pediatric Nerve
Chair: Raymond Tse, MD
Instructors: Jaret Olson, MD; Emily S. Ho, PhD; Ann R. Schwentker, MD
8:15 am - 10:15 am
ASPN/ASRM Combined Panel: Latest Advances in Neurotization

H&N - Corneal Neurotization & Sensory H&N Recon Post Cancer Resection
Moderator: Gregory H. Borschel, MD
Panelists: Mike Klebuc, MD; Joseph Dayan, MD

Moderators: Arash Momeni, MD; Andrea Moreira, MD
Panelists: Risal Djohan, MD; Stefania Tuinder, MD

Moderators: A. Lee Dellon, MD
Panelists: Loren Schechter, MD; Fausto Viterbo, MD

Moderator: Paul S. Cederna, MD
Panelists: Rudy Buntic, MD; Amy M. Moore, MD
10:15 am - 10:45 am
Coffee Break with Exhibitors
10:45 am - 11:30 pm
Scientific Paper Session IV
Moderators: Stephen W. P Kemp, MD; Robert R. Hagan, MD
11:30 am - 11:45 am
ASPN Distinguished Service Award Video
Susan E. Mackinnon, MD
11:45 am - 12:30 pm
ASPN Presidential Address
Introduction: Gedge Rosson, MD
Sensory Reconstruction Of The Cornea: A Journey Of Collaboration And Mentorship In Nerve Regeneration
Gregory H. Borschel, MD; ASPN President
12:30 pm - 12:45 pm
Presentation of Resident Awards and Grant Recipients
12:45 pm - 1:45 pm
Business Meeting (Working Lunch)