American Society for Peripheral Nerve
2019 Program

Program and Abstracts | ePosters

Friday February 1, 2019
6:30 am - 8:00 am
Continental Breakfast
6:30 am - 8:00 am
AAHS/ASPN Instructional Courses
MOC Instructional Course
Carpal Tunnel

(ABPS MOC-PS®-approved)
Chair: Ashish Mahajan, MD
Instructors: Loree K. Kallianen, MD, MA, FACS; Brian M. Parrett, MD
Surgical Skills Instructional Course
Nerve Transfers: Techniques, Tips, and Pearls for Making Them Work

Chair: Ida K. Fox, MD
Instructors: Lorna Canavan Kahn, PT, CHT; Amy Moore, MD; Dan A. Zlotolow, MD
Advanced Wrist Arthroscopy
Chair: David Ruch, MD
Instructors: Jeffrey Yao, MD; Jeffrey Greenberg, MD; William Geissler, MD; Mark Rekant, MD; Thomas Hughes, MD; A. Lee Osterman, MD; Marc J. Richard, MD
8:15 am - 8:20 am
ASPN President and Program Chair Welcome (Not for Credit)
David L. Brown, MD; ASPN President
Catherine Curtin, MD; Kristen M. Davidge, MD; ASPN Program Chairs
8:20 am - 8:45 am
2018 Grants Recipient (Not for Credit)

Regenerative Peripheral Nerve Interfaces for the Treatment of Painful Neuromas
Stephen Kemp, MD

Contributions of the immune response after nerve injury to NMJ reinnervation
Alison Snyder-Warwick, MD
8:45 am - 10:00 am
ASPN Concurrent Scientific Paper Session I
Moderators: Ida K. Fox, MD; Gedge D. Rosson, MD
8:45 am - 10:00 am
ASPN Concurrent Scientific Paper Session II
Moderators: Emily S. Ho, MD; Howard M. Clarke, MD
10:00 am - 10:30 am
Coffee Break with Exhibitors
10:30 am - 11:30 am
Concurrent AAHS Scientific Abstract Session V
Moderator: Warren C. Hammert, MD
Panelists: Ryan M. Garcia, MD; Ashish Y. Mahajan, MD; Joy MacDermid, BScPT, PhD
10:30 am - 11:30 am
Concurrent AAHS/ASPN Scientific Abstract Session VI
Moderator: Ida K. Fox, MD
Panelists: Jonathan L. Tueting, MD; Bryan Loeffler, MD; Christin Novak, PT, PhD
11:30 am - 12:30 pm
AAHS/ASPN Joint Panel: Ulnar Nerve Beyond the Debate
Moderator: Susan E. Mackinnon, MD
Panelists: Steven L. Moran, MD; Mark E. Baratz, MD; Bauback Safa, MD; Lorna Canavan Kahn PT, CHT
12:30 pm - 1:15 pm
Lunch with Exhibitors
1:15 pm - 2:45 pm
Panel I: Approach to Lower Extremity Nerve Injury
Moderator: Amy M. Moore, MD
Panelists: Douglas Ross, MD; Tim Tollestrop, MD; Allan D. Levi, MD; Martijn J.A. Malessy, MD, PhD
2:45 pm - 4:30 pm
ASPN Poster Session
Moderators: Allan J. Belzberg, MD; Eric Williams, MD; Howard M. Clarke, MD
Saturday February 2, 2019
6:30 am - 8:00 am
Continental Breakfast
7:00 am - 8:00 am
AAHS/ASPN/ASRM Instructional Courses
Mangled Upper Extremity: Pearls For Limb Salvage
Chair: Jeffrey Greenberg, MD
Instructors: Mihir J. Desai, MD; Deana Mercer, MD, Rudy Buntic, MD
Transplant Versus Neural Controlled Prostheses
Chair: Jaimie T. Shores, MD
Instructors: Peter C. Rhee, MD; R. Glenn Gaston, MD; Gayle K. Severance MS, OTR/L, CHT
Innervated Flaps: Restoring Motor And Sensory Function To The Upper Extremity
Chair: Amy M. Moore, MD
Instructors: Amir Taghinia, MD; Dong Chul Lee, MD; Milan Stevanovic, MD
Leave It, Graft It, Rotate It: Hand Coverage
Chair: Jason Ko, MD
Instructors: Roberto Adani, MD; Simon Talbot, MD; Andrew Watt, MD; Wojciech Przylecki, MD
Maximizing Replant Outcomes From Start To Finish
Chair: Bauback Safa, MD
Instructors: Bruno Battiston, MD; Kyle Eberlin, MD; Rudy Buntic, MD
Vascular Disorders Of The Hand
Chair: Peter M. Murray, MD
Instructors: Allen L. Van Beek, MD; Michael W. Neumeister, MD; Mary Drake, CHT
Atypical Nerve Entrapment Syndromes
Chair: A. Lee Dellon, MD
Instructors: Thomas HH. Tung, MD; Catherine Curtin, MD
Emerging Therapeutic Applications Of Nerve Stimulators
Chair: Tessa Gordon, PhD
Instructors: Line Jacques, MD; Scott Pritzalff, MD; Saba Kamal, OTR, CHT
8:15 am - 8:30 am
AAHS/ASPN/ASRM President's Welcome (Not for Credit)
Brian D. Adams, MD AAHS President
David L. Brown, MD; ASPN President
Joseph Disa, MD; ASRM President
C. Scott Hultman, MD; PSF President
8:30 am - 9:30 am
AAHS/ASPN/ASRM Combined Panel: Optimizing Perioperative Pain Control in the Opioid Epidemic Era
Moderator: David L. Brown, MD
Panelists: Jennifer Waljee, MD, MPH,MS; David L. Nelson, MD; Ian Carrol, MD; Joy C. MacDermid, PT, PhD
9:30 am - 10:00 am
Coffee Break with Exhibitors
10:00 am - 11:00 am
Ann Compton, Legendary ABC News' White House Corresponden Joint Presidential Keynote Lecture (Not for Credit)
Inside the White House and Current Events
Ann Compton, Legendary ABC News' White House Correspondent (1973-2014)
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
AAHS/ASPN/ASRM Joint Outstanding Paper Session
Moderators: R. Glenn Gaston, MD; Christina M. Ward, MD; Catherine Curtin, MD; Kristen M. Davidge, MD; Evan Matros, MD
12:15 pm - 1:15 pm
Lunch Symposium (Not for Credit)
Sign Up Here
Supported by Checkpoint Surgical
Supported by Akcea Therapeutics
This event is neither sponsored by nor endorsed by the ASPS or ASPN.
1:15 pm - 2:45 pm
Concurrent Scientific Paper Session III
Moderators: Alison K. Snyder-Warwick, MD; Stephen Kemp, MD
1:15 pm - 2:45 pm
Concurrent Scientific Paper Session IV
Moderators: Wesley P. Thayer, MD, PhD; Rafael J. Diaz-Garcia, MD
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Science and Surgery Without Boundaries- Building a Practice to Restore Sensation, Function, and Treat Pain Throughout the Human Body
Chair: Shai Rozen, MD
Faculty: Robert R. Hagan, MD; Jonathan Cheng, MD; David L. Brown, MD; Jennifer Waljee, MD, MPH, MS
4:30 pm - 6:00 pm
ASPN Mentorship Reception
Susan Mackinnon, MD
6:00 pm - 7:30 pm
ASPN/ASRM Welcome Reception
Sunday February 3, 2019
6:30 am - 8:00 am
Continental Breakfast
7:00 am - 8:00 am
ASPN Instructional Courses
Bench-to-Bedside: Translating Nerve Research through Working Collaborations
Chair: Ming Chan, MD
Instructors: Jaret Olson, MD; Joost Verhaagen, MD; Martijn JA Malessy, MD; PhD; Gregory A. Dumanian, MD
Use of Ultrasound to Visualize Nerves
Chair: Yoav Morag, MD
Instructors: Lynda Yang, MD; Robert R. Hagan, MD
Facial Nerve Reconstruction
Chair: Shai Rozen, MD
Instructors: Tessa A. Hadlock, MD; Alison K. Snyder-Warwick, MD
Update on Nerve Tumors
Chair: Robert Spinner, MD
Instructors: Rajiv Midha, MD; Allan J. Belzberg, MD
Restoration of Sensation
Chair: Gregory Borschel, MD
Instructors: Stefania M. H. Tuinder, MD; Ida K. Fox, MD; Christine Novak, PT, PhD
8:00 am - 8:20 am
Invited Speaker (Not for Credit)
"The Secret Life of Bees"
Vincent R. Hentz, MD
8:20 am - 8:40 am
ASPN Travelling Fellowship Announcement (Not for Credit)
Recipient: Alison K. Snyder-Warwick, MD
8:45 am - 9:45 am
ASPN/ASRM Combined Panel: Paradigm Shifts In My Practice
Moderator: Paul S. Cederna
Panelists: A. Lee Dellon, MD; Gregory M. Buncke, MD
9:45 am - 10:15 am
ASPN/ASRM Combined Scientific Paper Session
Moderators: Thomas J. Wilson, MD; Christine Novak, PT, PhD
10:15 am - 10:45 am
Coffee Break with Exhibitors
10:45 am - 11:30 am
Hugh Herr, Legendary ABC News' White House Correspondent (1973-2014) Invited Guest Speaker
The New Era of Extreme Bionics

Hugh Herr, Professor of Media Arts and Sciences
MIT Media Lab, Boston, MA
11:30 am - 12:00 pm
David L. Brown, MD; ASPN President ASPN Presidential Address (Not for Credit)
Introduction: Gregory Borschel, MD
David L. Brown, MD; ASPN President
12:00 pm – 1:00 pm
ASPN Business Meeting with Working Lunch (Not for Credit)
1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
ASPN Concurrent Scientific Paper Session V
Moderators: Jonathan M. Winograd, MD; Ziv M. Peled, MD
1:00 pm – 2:00 pm
ASPN Concurrent Scientific Paper Session VI
Moderators: Rajiv Midha, MD; Matthew D. Wood, PhD
2:00 pm - 2:10 pm
Presentation of Resident Awards
2:15 pm - 3:30 pm
Panel II: Diffusions of Innovation
Moderator: Kristen M. Davidge, MD, MSc
Panelists: Susan E. Mackinnon, MD; Michael W. Keith, MD; William M. Kuzon, MD, PhD
3:00 pm - 7:00 pm
ASPN/ASRM Super Bowl Tailgate Party