American Society for Peripheral Nerve

Program and Abstracts | Posters | Meeting Photos

Download PDF of Oral Presentation Abstracts

6:30 am - 8:00 am
Continental Breakfast with Exhibitors
6:30 am - 8:00 am
MOC Instructional Course
Flexor Tendon Injuries
(ABPS MOC-PS®-approved)
Chair: Nicholas B. Vedder, MD
Instructors: Andrew Chen, MD; Jennifer Waljee, MD, MPH, MS; Miranda M. Materi, OTD, CHT
7:00 am - 8:00 am
AAHS/ASPN Instructional Courses
Neuropathic Pain - What do you do in 2018?
Chair: Catherine Curtin, MD
Instructors: Ida K. Fox, MD; Laura Martini, MD; Saba Kamal, OT
Failed Nerve Decompressions - What is Next?
Chair: Scott F. Duncan, MD, MPH, MBA
Instructors: Steven McCabe, MD; John D. Lubahn, MD; Pierluigi Tos, MD; Gayle K. Severance, MS, OTR/L, CHT
Dupuytren's Contracture - How to Decide Between Different Treatments
Chair: Jaimie T. Shores, MD
Instructors: Alexander M. Spiess, MD; Thomas B. Hughes, MD; Susan Weiss, OT, CHT
Carpal Instability - Diagnosis and Treatment - SL, Midcarpal
Chair: Peter J.L. Jebson, MD
Instructors: A. Lee Osterman, MD; R. Glenn Gaston, MD; Kimberly G. Kraft, PT, DPT
Surgical Technique for Partial Joint Denervation
Chair: A. Lee Dellon, MD
Instructors: Sami Tuffaha, MD; Eric H. Williams, MD
Innovations in Management of Children with Birth-Related Brachial Plexus Injuries
Chair: Raymond Tse, MD
Instructors: Martijn J.A. Malessy, MD; Jaret Olson, MD; David Chwei-Chin Chuang, MD
Management of TOS
Chair: Robert R. Hagan, MD
Instructors: Scott Werden, MD; Kyle R. Eberlin; MD; Giogio Pietramaggori, MD
Improving Results Of Nerve Surgery With Appropriate Patient Selection
Chair: Susan E. Mackinnon, MD
Instructors: Megan Patterson, MD; Lorna Canavan Kahn, PT, CHT

8:15 am - 8:25 am
ASPN President and Program Chair Welcome (Not for Credit)
8:25 am - 8:30 am
2017 Grants Recipient
8:30 am - 10:00 am
10:00 am - 10:30 am
Coffee Break with Exhibitors
11:30 am - 12:30 pm
AAHS/ASPN Joint Panel: Nerve Injuries in 2018 - How to Manage a Nerve Gap and Provide the Best Outcomes
Moderator: Rajiv Midha, MD
Panelists: Jonathan Isaacs, MD; William C. Pederson, MD; Christine Novak, PT, PhD; Robert Schmidhammer, MD
12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
2:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Panel I: Healthcare Delivery Systems across Countries - Pros and Cons
Moderator: David L. Brown, MD
Panelists: Robert Spinner, MD; Martijn J.A. Malessy, MD; Ardeshir Bayatm, MD; Raj Midha, MD
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
AAHS Annual Meeting Dinner Dance
ASPN meeting registrants may purchase tickets to this event.

6:30 am - 8:00 am
Continental Breakfast with Exhibitors
7:00 am - 8:00 am
AAHS/ASPN/ASRM Instructional Courses
Advanced Upper Extremity Soft Tissue Reconstruction - Coverage and functional Muscle Transfers
Chair: Milan Stevanovic, MD
Instructors: Gunter Germann, MD; Mario Cherubino, MD; Gary S. Solomon, MS, OTR/L, CHT
Soft Tissue Coverage of the Hand - Flaps Every Hand Surgeon Should Know
Chair: Bauback Safa, MD
Instructors: Roberto Adani, MD; Edward M. Reece, MD; Mark Henry, MD; Stephanie N. Kannas, OTR/L, CHT
Chronic Ischemia in the Upper Extremity - Managemant of vascspastic and Occlusive Disease
Chair: James P. Higgins, MD
Instructors: Wendell Merritt, MD, Ryan Katz, MD, Cynthia C. Ivy, OTR/L, CHT
Novel Surgical Approaches for Headache Management
Chair: Ivica Ducic, MD, PhD
Instructors: Robert R. Hagan, MD; Ziv M. Peled, MD
Nerve Transfers Following Spinal Cord Injury
Chair: Kristen Davidge, MD
Instructors: Ida K. Fox, MD; Catherine Curtin, MD; Allan J. Belzberg, MD
Sense and Sensibility: Sensory Reinnervation of the Breast
Chair: Aldona J. Spiegel, MD
Instructors: Risal S. Djohan, MD; Stefania Tuinder, MD, PhD
Soft Tissue Coverage for Upper and Lower Extremity Trauma
Chair: Gregory M. Buncke, MD
Instructors: Guenter Germann, MD; William C. Pederson, MD; Pedro C. Cavadas, MD, PhD
Innovations in Microsurgery
Chair: Jesse C. Selber, MD, MPH
Instructors: Paul Cederna, MD, FACS; Ian L. Valerio, MD; Tom Van Mulken, MD
8:00 am - 8:15 am
AAHS/ASPN/ASRM President's Welcome (Not for Credit)
William C. Pederson, MD; AAHS President
Tessa Gordon, PhD; ASPN President
David Chang, MD; ASRM President
Paul S. Cederna, MD PSF; Immediate Past President
8:15 am - 9:30 am
AAHS/ASPN/ASRM Combined Panel: Targeted Muscle Reinnervation
Paul S. Cederna, MD
Panelists: R. Glenn Gaston, MD; Gregory A. Dumanian, MD; Oskar Aszmann, MD
9:30 am - 10:00 am
Coffee Break with Exhibitors
10:00 am - 11:00 am
Joint Presidential Keynote Lecture: Jeff Karp B.Eng. PhD, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Cambridge, MA Joint Presidential Keynote Lecture: Towards Accelerated Biomedical Innovation
Jeff Karp B.Eng. PhD
Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Cambridge, MA

11:00 am - 12:00 pm
AAHS/ASPN/ASRM Joint Outstanding Paper Session
Moderators: Warren C. Hammert, MD; Alison K. Snyder-Warwick, MD; Gregory H. Borschel, MD; Julie E. Park, MD
3:10 pm - 3:20 pm
Coffee Break
3:30 pm - 5:30 pm
Peripheral Nerves - Science and Surgery Without Boundaries- A Practical Approach in Restoring Sensation, Function, and Treating Pain Throughout the Human Body
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
ASPN/ASRM Welcome Reception

6:30 am - 8:00 am
Continental Breakfast
7:30 am - 8:30 am
ASPN Instructional Courses
Surgical Management of Pelvic and Trunk Pain
Chair: A. Lee Dellon, MD
Instructors: David L. Brown, MD; Tim Tollestrup, MD
Ultrasonography in Peripheral Nerve Surgery
Chair: Jennifer Hah, MD
Instructors: Michael Gofeld, MD; Mark A. Mahan, MD; Ziv M. Peled, MD
From the Bench to the Bedside: Hot Topics in Translational Research
Chair: Alison K. Snyder-Warwick, MD
Instructors: Stephen Kemp, PhD; Matthew R. MacEwan, MD; Matthew D. Wood, PhD; Amy M. Moore, MD
Motor Re-education Following Nerve Reconstruction
Chair: Christine Novak, PT, PhD
Instructors: Ida K. Fox, MD; Douglas Ross, MD; Lorna C. Kahn, PT, CHT
Electrical Stimulation in the PNS: What’s New and What Works?
Chair: Ming Chan, MD
Instructors: Tessa Gordon, PhD; Christine Webber, PhD; Michael Morhart, MD, FRCSC
8:45 am - 9:45 am
ASPN/ASRM Combined Panel: Facial Reanimation
Moderator: Ronald M. Zuker, MD
Panelists: Gregory H. Borschel, MD; Shai Rozen, MD; David Chwei-Chin Chuang, MD
10:15 am - 10:45 am
Coffee Break with Exhibitors
10:45 am - 11:45 am
11:45 pm - 12:15 pm
ASPN Presidential Address
Introduction: David L. Brown, MD

Nerve Injuries: Problems and Solutions So Far: Tessa Gordon, PhD, ASPN President Nerve Injuries: Problems and Solutions So Far
Tessa Gordon, PhD; ASPN President

12:15 pm - 1:00 pm
Panel II: Pain - A Critical Problem
A. Lee Dellon, MD
Panelists: Michael Salter, MD, PhD, FRSC; David L. Brown, MD
1:00 pm - 1:30 pm
Working Lunch & Presentation of Resident Awards
1:30 pm - 2:45 pm
Invited Guest Speaker Panel
Nerve Trek-To Seek Solutions Where No One Has Ever Been Before

Moderator: Ronald M. Zuker, MD
Panelists: Kristen Davidge, MD; Gregory H. Borschel, MD; Richard J. Redett, MD; Max Overgoor, MD; Fausto Viterbo, MD; Ardeshir Bayat, MD
2:45 pm - 2:55 pm
Invited Guest Speaker
Current Debate Between Proximal Nerve Graft/Transfer And Distal Nerve Transfer For Incomplete Root Avulsion Of The Adult Brachial Plexus Injury -- Chang Gung's Over 2000 Cases Experience

David Chwei-Chin Chuang, MD
2:55 pm - 3:15 pm
Video Session: Historical 'Tidbits' With The Founding Members of ASPN and Past Presidents
3:15 pm - 3:45 pm
ASPN Business Meeting (Not for Credit)